Skip to content

Try a Trade at SCCVC

In 2019 Southern Cross Catholic Vocational College will be running a large number of TRY A TRADE days for students from Catholic Schools throughout Sydney interested in learning more about the range of Vocational Education and Training (VET) Courses available at the College.

You can apply here

In total 24 days spread over 6 weeks will be offered to students in secondary schools. Generally they will be open to students in Years 8, 9 and 10 and preference will be given to applicants from Years 10, then Year 9 if we cannot accommodate all of those interested.

The number of days which students can attend is limited to the number of spaces available and the subject to both Parent/Carer and School Approval. Students are requested to only apply for 1, 2 or 3 days so we can maximise the number of students receiving this opportunity. Additionally we ask students to prioritise their preferred day/s in order so we can take this into account when confirming acceptances.

Here is the schedule of the remaining days/dates and courses available in 2019:

DayProgram
Monday, 20 May 2019Music Industry
Tuesday, 21 May 2019Early Childhood Education & Care
Wednesday, 22 May 2019Hospitality
Thursday, 23 May 2019Girls in Trades
Flyer for Week Commencing 20 May

Monday, 24 June 2019

Beauty Services
Tuesday, 25 June 2019Entertainment Industry
Wednesday, 26 June 2019Sport Coaching
Thursday, 27 June 2019Automotive
Flyer for Week Commencing 24 June

Monday, 12 August 2019

Screen & Media
Tuesday, 13 August 2019Information & Digital Technology
Wednesday, 14 August 2019Health Services
Thursday, 15 August 2019Events
Flyer for week commencing 12 August

Monday, 11 November 2019

Property Services
Tuesday, 12 November 2019Beauty Services
Wednesday, 13 November 2019Construction
Thursday, 14 November 2019Retail Services
Flyer for week commencing 11 Nov

Monday, 2 December 2019

Business Services
Tuesday, 3 December 2019Hairdressing
Wednesday, 4 December 2019Hospitality
Thursday, 5 December 2019Furniture Making
Flyer for week commencing 2 Dec

If you are interested in attending one of the TRY A TRADE programs you can apply here

This Permission Note needs to be completed and returned to your Home School the week before you attend (at the latest).